Homemade Yogurt

This is really all you need to make yogurt

Jamie loves yogurt, it is one of his go-to snacks. As for me, I like it but I have to make a conscious effort to grab it off the shelf. However, homemade yogurt (to me) is so drastically different from store-bought.  I always found store-bought to be too sweet, but with homemade I can control how sweet it is. Jamie’s parents bought me a yogurt maker for Christmas this year, and since then I’ve been making yogurt for us every Sunday. I also love that I’m not going through so many plastic yogurt containers, now I can just wash as reuse the ones that came with the yogurt maker. My recipe for vanilla-honey yogurt is below:

5 cups skim milk

2/3 cup to 1 cup non-fat dry milk powder (depending on how thick you like your yogurt, I tend to like mine pretty thick. See here for info on other ways to make thicker yogurt)

2 tablespoons vanilla

¼- ½ cup of honey (depending on how sweet you want your yogurt to be)

2 heaping tablespoons of plain yogurt (it MUST have live, active cultures..so make sure to check before you buy it)

Thermometer

Saucepan

Plastic bowl (if it has a spout for pouring it’s helpful)

Wisk

Any toppings you would like for the finished product!

Some of the tools you'll need

First you need to mix the yogurt, vanilla, honey, and dry milk powder in the sauce pan and heat until steam rises of the top. This part is important because it kills any bacteria in the milk that could interfere with the live active cultures in your yogurt. For me it talks about 8-10 minutes on medium. I stir fairly consistently.

It's the beginnings of yogurt!

Once it has reached the point where there is steam, you pour the milk mixture into a bowl to let cool. This is the part that can be time-consuming. The milk has to be between 110 and 115 degrees Fahrenheit to encourage the cultures to grow. My yogurt maker came with a thermometer that has highlighted that specific temperature range.

And now the waiting starts..I usually go do a load of laundry or something while I wait for the temperature to drop. It takes a little patience 🙂

Once the milk has reached the right temperature, I take the 2 tablespoons of your store-bought yogurt (called the starter) and place it in two of the small containers.

I used plain greek yogurt from Trader Joes this time around as my starter

Then I pour a small amount of the milk mixture into the two containers and mix well. Once the starter is incorporated into the milk pour it back into the original bow. Mix well and pour evenly into the 8 cups.

Almost ready to go!

I place the lids on the containers and stick in the yogurt maker for 12 hours. The longer you let sit, the thicker it will get. If you leave it for too long though it will break.

Now all that's left to do is wait

I started this at 6pm on Sunday and let it go overnight. When I woke up this morning it was done. You have to stick it in the refrigerator immediately for 4 hours…then it’s ready to eat. I like to add strawberry preserves, peaches, mangos, blueberries etc when I’m ready to eat.

Yummy...I'm getting this one ready for Jamie to take to work tomorrow

I used to think that making yogurt at home was intimidating but this little machine makes it a breeze. There are a lot of good resources on the internet if you’re looking for your own recipe or instructions on how to make yogurt without a yogurt machine, including this website How to Make Yogurt , this crock pot yogurt method and this one if you like Greek yogurt (one of my personal favorites!)

Leave me a message :)

