Homemade Luna Bars Try #1

Picture is a little unclear...I don't have the best lighting or a steady arm!

So this was my first attempt at making home-made Luna Bars.  Although they’re good, they’re not quite what I thought they would be! I made them as directly from the recipe here (Many thanks to Katie for being the first to forge the homemade Luna Bar Frontier!). I always like to make things exactly as written first so I can make an accurate judgement before making changes to the recipe.

I definitely think I will keep making these but with a modified recipe. I’ll have to experiment with the ingredients. For me the peanut butter flavor is too strong (could be fixed by using a different nut butter) and the ratio of rice cereal is off (not enough, the mixture is little too moist). At any rate, they taste like a peanut butter rice crispy treat, which is not a bad thing. Picture and direction are below. Stay tuned for my second try at making Luna bars sometime in the near future!

Homemade Luna Bars (from Chocolate Covered Katie)

3 cups rice crispies

2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/2 tsp salt (I used unsalted peanut butter)

1/2 cup plus 2 T nut butter (for lower-cal option, see below link)

1/2 cup sticky sweetener, such as agave or brown rice syrup (I used agave)

2-3 T protein powder (you can omit)

melted chocolate chips or No-Sugar Chocolate Sauce

1 8X8 pan

This is the protein powder Jamie and I have

Mix your nut butter (I used peanut butter), sweetener, extract, and salt. Melt (either in the microwave or stove), then pour over the cereal and powder, and stir very well, making sure to coat all the crispies.

Getting happy in the bowl!

Squish the crispies. Line a pan with wax paper (I didn’t have any so I used aluminum foil and with a little cooking spray )and spread the mixture evenly into the pan. Place a sheet of wax paper (or aluminum in my case) on top of the mixture, then press down as firmly as you can.

I used another sheet of aluminum foil so my hands didn't get all gooey

I melted my chocolate chips in the microwave and then spread the chocolate on top.

The chocolate is the best part

I froze in the freezer for at 30 minutes before slicing. I flipped the bars out on to a cutting board and peeled the aluminum foil off.

When slicing the topping may crack but don’t worry, you get to eat the pieces when they fall off 🙂

If you try this recipe let me know how it works out for you and what you thought of the end result. I’ll be trying a modified version of these again soon 😛

2 thoughts on “Homemade Luna Bars Try #1

  1. I saw this recipe the other day and want to make them too! I wonder how almond butter would work? I also have plain, unsweetened brown rice that I might use instead of rice krispies. Yours look delicious!

    • Thanks! I wanted to use brown rice cereal but I didn’t have any in the house and was too lazy to go get some. I had rice krispies left over from making rice krispy treats for my cousins haha. I think almond butter would be perfect, that is what I will use next time and perhaps brown rice syrup instead of honey. Good luck with your bars!

Leave me a message :)

