Pumpkin Oat Bran Muffins

Pumpkin is one of my favorite flavors!

This weekend was serious baking weekend for me. I haven’t made muffins in a while, and we had some left over canned pumpkin from making pumpkin pancakes last weekend that I needed to use up. The obvious solution was to make a batch of pumpkin oat bran muffins :P. I use this base recipe for making other kinds of bran muffins as well (using wheat bran or switching up the spices/adding things like crasins etc)

Pumpkin Oat Bran Muffins

1 ½ cups unprocessed oat bran

¾ cup honey (I’ve used brown sugar here before too but didn’t have any in the pantry! )

½ cup 100% white whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon fresh ground nutmeg

½ teaspoon ginger

¼ teaspoon salt

1 cup mashed pumpkin ,  cooked

½ cup skim milk

2 egg whites , lightly beaten

2 tablespoons applesauce

vegetable oil cooking spray

In a bowl, combine milk with the oat bran and let soak 5 minutes

Mean while, in separate bowl combine the dry ingredients (the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, salt). Stir to combine.

To the bran mixture add the pumpkin, honey, egg whites and apple sauce. Stir well. Add the dry ingredients to the bran mixture and just mix to combine…do not over mix!

Spray your muffin tins with cooking spray, or use the paper cups. Pour each muffin cup about ¾ ways full. Place in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.

These are good hot or cold. The amount of spices will depend on how “spiced” you like your muffins. I like mine fairly strong. I made mine with only 1/2 cup of honey…they were perfect for me but I know that Jamie is likes a bit more sweetness so I ended up rolling them in sugar (haha). They kind of reminded me of the Chinese doughnuts I use to get at Chinese buffets 🙂

A little extra sugar never hurt anything...

It has occured to me that most of what I post here is baking related. I do love to cook as well! To be honest, I haven’t always been into baking because it is so “follow the directions” oriented. I always had fun with cooking and throwing in whatever looks good. At any rate, my goal is to get some other types of recipes going on here. Tomorrow I’m working late but for Wednesday it will be a chili and cornbread night. See you all then!

One thought on “Pumpkin Oat Bran Muffins

Leave me a message :)

