Yummm…Chili

Chili is one of my favorite food...especially served with corn bread 🙂

 

My slow cooker is one of my favorite tools for the kitchen. What bothers me the most is that the majority of recipes I find require canned “cream of ____ soup” or french onion dip seasoning. I really try to watch our sodium consumption so I usually end up altering the recipes a bit. This chili recipe is great for a cold winter day, and makes PLENTY for left overs. I usually keep out some for left overs (always taste better the next day) and freeze the rest for a day when I don’t have time to make dinner.

Chili

1 and 1/2 pounds ground beef (I’ve used turkey here before)

1 and ½ cup black beans, cooked (I used dried beans but you can use canned..just make sure to rinse and drain them)

2 (14.5 ounce) cans diced tomatoes, undrained (I used no salt added)

2 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce (I also used not salt added)

1/2  to 1 cup water

1 medium onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

1 1/2 cup frozen corn

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablespoons chili powder

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 teaspoon dried oregano

1 teaspoon dried basil

1 teaspoon paprika

1/2 to 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper (depending on how spicy you like your chili)

2 teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon ground pepper

2 teaspoons white sugar (to cut the acidity of the tomatoes)

1/2 cup water

Shredded Cheddar cheese

Low fat sour cream

Any other toppings your heart desires!

Brown ground beef until it is no longer pink, drain excess grease. Place in slow cooker.

I usually make our chili with turkey but didn't have any available...so this time it was ground beef

Place chopped onion, peppers, and garlic in the same skillet that the ground beef was cooked in and soften. Stick on top of the beef.

Just keep layering!

 

Add black beans, corn, tomatoes, tomato sauce and water.

Keep going...

Another layer

 

Next add the Worcestershire sauce and spices.

All the good spices that make it taste so delicious

Cover and set to cook on low for 8 hours. I set mine to cook over night, so in the morning it was done. I placed it in the refrigerator while I was at work and took it out when I got home to re-heat while Jamie and I were working out. I served it with corn bread muffins and a salad. Feel free to alter the spice amounts, depending on your taste. I’d say that this makes a mild with a slight bite. I’m not one for spice things, but Jamie like more spice…so I add sour cream to mine to cool it down a bit. Looks like Jamie and I are having left overs for dinner tomorrow 😛

2 thoughts on “Yummm…Chili

  1. I’m putting this in my crockpot for dinner tonight! It’s a cold, cloudy day here in MO, this will be perfect for when we get home. Thanks!

Leave me a message :)

