Breakfast Casserole

Sunday Breakfast..perfect for a cold snowy morning

My dad’s side of the family is from Cincinnati, Ohio and in Cincinnati there is a large German population. I grew up eating Goetta, which is similar to breakfast sausage, but with steel cut oats. Definitely not the most healthy thing to eat, but it’s a really treat to have it every once in a while. When I met Jamie I introduced him to Goetta and he loves it. So whenever we make a trip down to see the family, we pick up some Goetta to bring back home!

For my breakfast casserole this morning, I decide to use Goetta.

I have made this casserole with green peppers and ham. Broccoli and turkey bacon, mushrooms and spinach. Really, you can mix anything you have around the house into this casserole…which is why I like it. It’s filling and you get a little bit of everything, potatoes, eggs, fun fillings…all rolled into one square. It’s a great leftover vehicle and you can freeze it if needed). That means I don’t have to make breakfasts during the week for Jamie! 😛

 

Breakfast Casserole

2-3 large potatoes (I used yukon gold), diced to usually to about ½ inch thick

1 tablespoon canola oil

1/2  onion, chopped

1 lb protein/vegetables of your choice (I’ve used ham, turkey bacon, regular bacon, broccoli, mushrooms, peppers..and combinations of all of these).

4 whole eggs

2 and 1/4 cup egg whites (I buy the liquid egg whites in a carton)

1/3 cup low fat sour cream (I’ve used cottage cheese before too)

1/2 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese

 

Butter the bottom and sides of a 9×13 pan. Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat skillet with the oil on medium/medium high heat. Once hot place potatoes in pan (carefully) and cover. Let cook 5 minutes on one side, flip potatoes, cover again and let cook another 5 minutes. At this stage you want to inside of your potatoes to cook. They will brown as well.

Potato and onion mixture

Add onion to potatoes mixture and  cook uncovered until soft. Season with salt and pepper to your taste. Place onion and potatoes in the 9×13 pan.

Cook you additional fillings. For me, I needed to finish cooking the Goetta (it come partially cooked).

There's the Goetta getting all crispy!

Add fillings to the 9×13 pan on top of the potatoes. Let cool slightly.

Wisk eggs, egg whites and sour cream in a bowl. Add salt and pepper to your taste (it could also depend on what fillings you decide to use). Pour on into 9×13 pan, sprinkle for cheese and bake in over for 35-40 minutes.

Jamie was pretty excited about this when he got up this morning 🙂

One thought on “Breakfast Casserole

Leave me a message :)

