Morning Yoga and Chocolate Oatmeal!

               Today I have off from work! (I actually took after yesterday too…hey, everyone needs a mental health day once in a great while). Jamie and I are heading to Buffalo this afternoon for our God daughters 1st birthday, so we’re pretty excited for that.

🙂

               Jamie had hockey until late last night and didn’t end up in bed until 3:30am (he’s a real night owl). I on the other hand, am more of a morning person. This morning I got up at 7:30am and did a quick morning yoga routine to loosen up, Made some chocolate oatmeal (recipe below) and just kicked back and watched the today show. Around 9:30am I headed to the gym (I had planned to do an Insanity workout but I feel so loud jumping around…I didn’t want to wake Jamie up). Sometime I just get an urge to go for a long run on the treadmill listening to some music on my ipod. Plus, I knew since it was a weekday there wouldn’t be as many people at the gym compared to when I usually go (right after work).

                This oatmeal reminds me of a better version of coco rice crispys. To be honest, I really have to get use to the texture of oatmeal…I am not a natural oatmeal lover! But after realizing that there’s more to oatmeal than just the plain jane, I grew to like it. Plus, it’s really just so convinent…I can take the oats and liquid to work and stick in the microwave when I get there for a hearty breakfast.

_______________________________________________________

As you can see from the reflection off my coffee table... I was watching the today show!

Chocolate Oatmeal

1/2 Cup quick cook oats

1 cup milk (dairy, soy or almond)

pinch of salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 tablespoon dutch processed unsweetened coco powder

1 to 3 teaspoons sugar (or other sweetner)

_______________________________________________________

Add the oatmeal, milk, salt and vanilla in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave for 1 1/2 minutes to 3 minutes (depending on how chewy you like your oats).

Yuuum Chocolate

Add coco powder, and sugar, stir well to combine. Scoop into a bowl and enjoy! I’ll be out of town for the next couple days but will see you all on Sunday. Have a super weekend 😀

5 thoughts on “Morning Yoga and Chocolate Oatmeal!

  1. I’ve been on a “cleanse” of sorts, and have been craving something to spice up my boring morning oatmeal AND bring back some chocolate into my life…so thank you for this creative idea! I would have never thought of this and I’m looking forward to trying it!

Leave me a message :)

