2-a-days and Fruit Cobbler

So even though today was my first day back after a four-day weekend, I got up at 4:30am to do the Insanity Plyometric circuit workout. I really like working out in the morning…I find that it helps keep me on track (eating wise) for the rest of the day, plus breakfast is my favorite meal! So after I workout I usually make myself a yummy egg white scramble with a homemade whole wheat muffin. After I got home from work Jamie and I squeezed in an Insanity Pure Cardio workout too so I feel super accomplished today! I like doing 2-a-days but I think I can get carried away sometime so tomorrow will be a P90x yoga day for Jamie and I. Tonight I was looking for something sweet to make for dessert this week and found and oldy-but-goody in my allrecipes box.

This is one of the easiest desserts to make and you can just about put any combination of fruit in here. The original recipe is here…but I’ve modified it for my liking. I’ve done frozen mixed berries before, and fresh blue berries and fresh peaches. This cobbler has a batter top rather than pie or biscuit top. The batter will rise above the fruit when baking. This is a pretty health dessert by its self (but adding ice cream is half the fun :P) Enjoy!

Fruit Cobbler

1/4 cup butter

1 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour (I had to use 1/2 cup unbleached all purpose and 3/4 cup whole wheat

1/2 cup white sugar (I used a bit less because the peaches I used were in their own juice which is sweet)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 cups fruit of your choice (all I had on hand was froze strawberries and dole canned peaches)

_______________________________________________________

First cut the fruit of your choice into similar sizes.

Although not pictured, I also cut my frozen strawberries so that they were of equal size

Melt butter or margarine in a 9 x 13 inch pan. Set aside to cool.

Stir together flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder.

Mix in milk and vanilla.

Pour batter over melted butter. DO NOT MIX OR STIR.

Spoon fruit with juice over the batter. DO NOT MIX OR STIR.

Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 55 minutes. This is really good right out of the oven with ice cream!

5 thoughts on “2-a-days and Fruit Cobbler

Leave me a message :)

