Saturday Morning Pancakes made with Greek Yogurt

It’s so nice having my mom around….even though we live about 4 hours a way we don’t get to see each other enough! yesterday we went to the Cleveland Auto Show because my mom is looking to buy a new car sometime in the near future. It’s always fun to check out the cars that I can’t afford (at least for now :P). Jamie is going back to the auto show today with a couple of our friends so he can check out the cars again. Last night we spend most of the time looking at cars my mom would want…and the cars Jamie is interested in are very different then what my mom is looking for, haha. So today my mom an I are going to drive around town and get some shopping in. These pancakes made a great breakfast this morning to get our day started right! This recipe makes about 12, 4 inch pancakes.

Image

1 ¼ cup whole wheat flour (today I decided to use 1 cup whole wheat and ¼ unbleached all purpose)

¼ cup ground flax seed

½ teaspoon salt

1 ½ teaspoon baking powder

¾ teaspoon baking soda

¾ cup skim milk

¼ cup egg whites (I use the egg whites from a carton, but 2 to 3 egg whites from actually eggs would probably be equivalent)

1 and ½ cup greek yogurt

¼ cup applesauce

1 teaspoon vanilla (I omitted the vanilla this time since I used vanilla greek yogurt)

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl.

Image

Wisk together wet ingredients. Combine wet ingredients with dry and mix until combined. Mixture will be slightly thick.

Laddle ¼ cup of the batter in a pan over medium/medium high heat.

Image

When the top to the pancakes start to form bubbles, flip and cook until the other side is brown.

Image

Image

Image

Serve with your favorite toppings! I just like a little butter and sometimes a little syrup. Jamie likes to have his with powdered sugar. Enjoy your Saturday!

2 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Pancakes made with Greek Yogurt

Leave me a message :)

