Oven Baked Turkey Meatballs

Happy almost weekend to everyone out there! I work up this morning and my body was telling me to catch a few extra minute of sleep..so I did! After work today I only managed to fit in P90X cardio, which really is fine by me because tomorrow I am going to do Insanity in the morning and go to the gym after work since I am getting out early. Hooray for a short Friday work day 😀


When thinking of what to make for dinner tonight, I remembered watching a show of Good Eats a while back. My recipe is a modification of his recipe. I just used ground turkey breast and omitted the cheese. Enjoy!

_______________________________________________________

Turkey Meatballs

 1 pound ground turkey (I used ground turkey breast)

¼ cup frozen spinach, dethawed and drained well

¼ cup dried breadcrumbs

½ cup grated onion

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 ½  teaspoon dried parsley

1 ½  teaspoon dried basil

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon oil

½ teaspoon ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the turkey, spinach, egg, basil, parsley, garlic powder, salt, and 1 teaspoon oil and 1/4 cup of the bread crumbs. Using your hands, mix all ingredients until well incorporated.

Place the remaining 1/4 cup of bread crumbs into a small bowl. Using a scale, weigh meatballs into 1.5-ounce portions and place on a sheet pan. Using your hands, shape the meatballs into rounds, roll in the bread crumbs and place the meatballs in individual, miniature muffin tin cups.

I sprayed the bottom of the tins with cooking spray and then gave the tops a quick spray to help brown

Bake for 20 minutes or until golden and cooked through. Serve meatballs with either homemade (which I didn’t have time to do) or store-bought (like I did) sauce and pasta.

I hope you all try these, they really are so simple and seriously taste great!

3 thoughts on “Oven Baked Turkey Meatballs

Leave me a message :)

