Back to the old routine and a beef stroganoff recipe

Happy to report that after buying a wrist support thing at CVS last night on my way home from work and wearing it over night has made my wrist feel SO much better. Upon talking to my mom on my way home from work tonight she reminded me that I have always had weak wrists. I had totally forgot about it but as soon as she told me stories it jogged my memory. I don’t think I sprained my wrist often, but I remember it being painful as it some how fell out-of-place when doing every day activities like playing with friends and pulling a shirt over my head. At any rate, I also got a sports wrist support so I am hopeful I can continuing the P90X arms and such. 😀

Today was another nice day (we really have been lucky) so I went for a little run to celebrate my wrist feeling better. Ran 4.3 miles… I probably could have gone longer but my knees would not like me tomorrow morning :P. On tomorrows agenda is an Insanity Video and P90X Shoulder and Arms before a busy weekend!

________________________________________________________

This isn’t the most healthy recipe but hey, it tastes good!

Beef Stroganoff

2/3 cups red wine (I used cabernet)

1.2 to 1.5 lbs chuck roast

½ cup flour

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 lb baby portabella mushrooms, sliced

2 teaspoons fresh thyme chopped

1 clove garlic

1 ½ cups beef broth

½ teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons reduced fat sour cream

________________________________________________________

Cut roast into medium thickness strips. Marinade in wine for 24 hours.

The next day, place the flour, salt, pepper, and garlic powder in  a gallon sized zip lock bag. Shake to mix well.

Remove pieces of meat from wine. Reserve wine for later. Pat the meat dry and place 8 to 10 pieces in the flour mixture. Seal and shake until pieces are coated.

Place the beef in a heated skillet with a little oil and sear on each side. Remove the pieces once they are browned and place on a plate. Repeat the flour and searing process until all the meat is seared. You may need to add additional oil after each batch.

In the same pan over medium heat, sauté the mushrooms, clove of garlic, and salt, about 10 minutes.

Add fresh thyme and reserved red white. Once the red wine has reduced, add the beef broth. Place the meat back in the pan and cover, cooking over low for at least an hour, stirring occasionally.

When ready to serve, take off heat and add 3 tablespoons of sour cream and stir until combined. Serve over buttered egg noodles!

Leave me a message :)

