Black Bean Brownies

I am finally starting to feel like my old self again! I don’t sound nearly as bad and am slowly but surely getting back in to my old eating routine (Although I guess brownies really aren’t considered a good breakfast…). I just returned home from the grocery store with lots of good fruits and veggies for the week and I am excited to resume my workouts. The last few days I’ve been doing some move from the shoulders, arms, triceps from P90X and the Insanity ab videos, but I am aiming for Monday to start back up with my normal routine!

When I got home and unpacked I decided to whip up a batch of these delicious brownies.

As you can see...I had a brownie for Breakfast!

 

The recipe is adapted from the food network. I cut out all the oil, reduced the sugar and got rid of the eggs to make this a much healthier brownie. These are definitely a “fudgey” texture versus a “cakey” one so if you like “fudgey brownies then try these out! I swear that you will never taste the beans in here and you get a little added bonus with the extra protein. And maybe because they are healthier you can justify putting a tiny scoop of low-fat vanilla ice cream on top 😛

Black Bean Brownies

Cooking spray, for greasing pan

3/4 cup cooked black beans, rinsed and drained well

1/2 cup apple sauce

1/3 cup egg whites

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon instant coffee or espresso

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/3 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons ground flax seed

Confectioners sugar, for dusting

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 9 by 9-inch square baking pan.

In a blender, puree the beans with the oil apple sauce. Add the egg whites, cocoa, sugar, coffee, and vanilla. Blend on medium-high until smooth.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and flax seed. Add mixture from the blender to the bowl and mix until just incorporated. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Pour into the prepared pan. Bake until the surface looks somewhat matte around the edges and still a bit shiny in the middle, about 20 minutes. Mine actually took 15 minutes because I was using a dark coated 9X9.

Let cool at least 15 minutes before cutting and removing from the pan. Mine just popped out when cooled! Dust with confectioners’ sugar and serve.

7 thoughts on “Black Bean Brownies

  1. I’ve made something similar to these before, using pinto beans. Suprisingly, they were good. These that you made look great! I would totally eat them!

    Glad you are feeling better!!

  2. nice, what’s your workout sched this week?
    mine is…
    sun – back, bicep, abs
    mon – plyo
    tues – full upper body except core
    wed – stretch
    thurs – core syn
    fri – stretch
    sat – hockey
    :))))

    • The plan is:

      Sunday – Zumba and Abs
      Monday -Morning; Legs and Back, Night; P90X Cardio X
      Tuesday – Morning; Pilates Night; Arms Shoulders Triceps
      Wednesday – Morning; Insanity Pure Cardio, Abs Night; P90X Kempo
      Thursday – Night; Stretch
      Friday – Morning; Cardio Plyo Circuit, Night; Yoga
      Saturday – Morning; Gym and Zumba
      Sunday – Yoga or Stretch

Leave me a message :)

