Almond butter chocolate chip cookies

Back to the 2-a-days! I woke up this morning at 4:45am and did P90X Legs and Back while watching the morning news. It felt good to get back into the swing of things. After work I came home and did Insanity Power Cardio and Resistance. It’s fair to say that my legs are pretty tired out. I plan on eating a good dinner so I’m ready to do P90X Shoulder, Arms, Triceps tomorrow morning. I’ll be working later than usual tomorrow but am looking forward to doing Pure Cardio after work.

Now tell me, don't those look just like "regular" chocolate chip cookies? They taste just like them too 🙂

I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a while now and let me tell you I wish that I had made this sooner! I fooled Jamie into thinking that these were “regular” chocolate chip cookies. He immediately grabbed one on his way in the door from work and proclaimed that these are his new favorite cookie. The original recipe is found here on the Clean Eating webpage. I modified it because I had Justin’s Almond Butter with Maple so it had a touch of sugar in it already, and wanted to use brown sugar and vanilla.

Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup almond butter, stirred well

1/2 cup brown sugar (or honey..I didn’t have any on hand 😦 )

1 large egg

1/2 tsp baking soda

a pinch of sea salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 oz chocolate chips (dark chocolate pieces are good here too!)

Preheat oven to 350°F. In a medium bowl, stir together first 5 ingredients until blended. Stir in chocolate.

Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto parchment-lined baking sheets. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until lightly browned.

Baking a away!

Let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes. Remove to a wire rack and let cool for 15 more minutes.

If you want them flatter...I'd say you could shape them more into disks before baking and they will probably spread out more when baking

One thought on “Almond butter chocolate chip cookies

Leave me a message :)

