“She’s a kid in a dog suit”

That’s how my mom describes our dog. Sadie has always been thought of as a person in our family, who just happens to have four legs, a tail and a wet nose. As I’m getting ready to make the trip back home for Easter, I was thinking about how excited I am to see my dog (and my family :P) To this day I still get so excited to go home to see this girl!

My baby!!

I’m serious when I say that my dog is one of the things that I miss most about home. I’m not sure if it’s because I am an only child, but growing up Sadie was a huge part of my life.

I was probably about 11 when we got Sadie from Lollypop Farm, a humane society about 30 minute from where I lived.

We hadn’t intended to adopt a dog that day, but when we saw her we immediately fell in love. She was only about 1-year-old at the time and her owners had abandoned her in their back yard. She was rescued by a kind neighbor who dropped her off at the humane society. When we decided to adopt her she was severely malnourished, and in desperate need for a loving family. We were that family for her!

We’re not exactly sure what she is, but over the years we’ve decided that she’s part lab, part pit bull. She has the overall lab look but her ears look different. They go up rather than fold over haha.

Sadie got me through some tough times and when it came time for me to leave for college, my heart was breaking! I could see the confusion in her eyes…she was thinking. “where are you going?” “why are you leaving me?”.  For weeks after I left my mom would call and say, “Sadie has been looking for you to come home every day”. I felt so bad..it was times like those when I wished I could talk to her over the phone!

Last time I visited home I noticed that Sadie had more grey hair. She isn’t is fast as she use to be and stairs are getting harder for her to do. As I was driving back to Cleveland I realized that, she is getting old :(. She will be 12 in December, and realistically in dog years she is pretty old (especially for a larger dog). Sadie still greets me at the door when I come home from Cleveland and makes the best attempts at playing like she use to back in her younger days.

I am completly guilty of spoiling her like crazy when I’m home. She likes to eat my left over breakfast… so I make big breakfasts when I’m home and save her the crusts of my bread and some eggs. She can’t jump on to the bed’s as well any more so I get out of bed at 2am when I see her staring at me to help pick her up so she can sleep in bed (it’s not an easy task..she weighs 70 lbs or so).  But it’s all worth it!

Isn’t it crazy how pets really become a part of the family?? Do you have a special animal in your life?

8 thoughts on ““She’s a kid in a dog suit”

  1. Precious post!! My daughter had a spaniel that died at 15 I think it was. Very sad day as she had her dog from a tiny puppy….Yes they are part of your family, a huge part. They become your “fur-babies” as I call them. Good for you for being so kind and loving to your sweet dog. Have a great day. 🙂 Renee

  2. Love this post! Agree with you 100% about pets being part of the family! I grew up with them too and loved them so much. Now that i’m grown I live alone and have a longhaired Chihuahua who I swear is like my child! She goes everywhere I go- cars, planes- everywhere! She is just the best dog too. So laid back and loving! She’s just so much my baby in every way! In lieu of my own real children my parents spoil her too as their “grand-dog.” LOVE IT!. They make their way into your heart and there’s no going back. So sweet! Your post resounds with lots of other people, I am sure!

  3. Sadie seems like such a sweet dog! I’ve grown up with dogs all my life. Currently, I have a part beagle, part something dog named Jorge. We got him from the humane society too. He was originally from Ohio, but his owner died and no one found him for a couple of weeks. 😦 Poor thing. But now, he’s got the life; sleeping in beds, eating out of the garbage when no one’s looking, and chasing motorcycles with a vengeance. Love him to death.

Leave me a message :)

