Pasta with Smoked Salmon

So tomorrow I’m leaving after work to drive back home for Easter. Jamie will be staying here (I might be secretly excited because it means that I can hang out with my mom solo :P). I’ve been keeping on track with all my workouts . The last few days I’ve been doing 2-a-days and I feel great! I plan to bring my weights with my to Rochester so I can do P90X Shoulders and Arms. Even though I’ll be away from home that’s no excuse not to get my workouts done.
Tonight was I was looking for a way to use up a box of smoked salmon that Jamie’s uncle gave to us. As a bonus, this made enough so Jamie can eat leftovers while I’m gone. I think that this recipe would be good also with a creamy sauce, either by adding milk or cream or some cream cheese. I just didn’t have any on hand.

Pasta with Smoked Salmon

1/2 of a box of pasta (I used thin spaghetti)

1 teaspoon salt

2 Tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup chopped onion (can substitute onions)

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups fresh baby spinach

1 pint grape tomatoes

1 Tbsp butter

1/3 cup dry white wine

1 Tbsp lemon juice

1 Tbsp lemon zest

6 ounces smoked salmon, cut into bite sized pieces

Fresh ground black pepper

Heat to boiling a large pot. Once the water is boiling, salt it with 1 teaspoon of salt. Once the water returns to a boil add the pasta to the pot. Leave uncovered, on high heat and let cook with a vigorous boil until al dente.

I never pick a big enough pot for my pasta!

While the pasta is cooking, prepare the sauce. In a large skillet heat olive oil on medium heat. Add the onions and garlic, cook for 2 minutes, then add 2 cups fresh baby spinach.

Once wilted add tomatoes. Add white wine, lemon juice, and 1 Tbsp of lemon zest and butter/margarine. Increase the heat and let boil down by half.

You could cut your tomatoes..but I like when they "pop" in your mouth while eating them

The sauce should be done about the same time the pasta is done. If you get done earlier with it than the pasta, take it off the heat.

Once the pasta is done, and before draining the pasta, scoop out 1/2 cup of the pasta cooking liquid and reserve. Drain the pasta and add it to the skillet with the sauce. Add back some of the pasta cooking liquid to the pasta if it is a little dry. Add the smoked salmon. Season with freshly ground black pepper and salt to taste.

I hope you all have a super holiday weekend! Are you planning anything special? Do you have any Easter traditions?

6 thoughts on “Pasta with Smoked Salmon

Leave me a message :)

