Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

So after a great weekend back home in New York, I’ve returned to good old Ohio. today was a busy one..work always seems crazy after a Holiday. I felt good getting up at 4:30am this morning and really gave it all I had for my Insanity Pure Cardio Workout. I was happy to start my workouts for this week off on the right track

I had to go to the BMV to renew my driver’s license after work and surprisingly, there was no line!  I don’t know about you, but I’m always nervous that I am going to fail the eye exam haha. Jamie came with me and we were able to get in and out within 15 minutes.

Next we headed for the grocery store and I was able to stay under my budget (so excited!!!). Jamie and I decided to make a pizza for dinner tonight since we came home sort of late. I really would of preferred to make my own crust but I just didn’t have time, so I settled for Mama Mary’s 100% Whole Wheat Crust.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

3/4 lb steak, diced

1 package fresh, baby bella mushrooms, sliced

1 green pepper, diced

1 red pepper, diced

half of a large onion

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 teaspoons vegetable oil

2 7 inch pizza crusts (we like thin crust)

1 cup italian blend cheese, shredded

1/2 cup cheddar cheese, shredded (Jamie added cheddar cheese to his half of each crust :P)

1/2 cup tomato sauce (this can vary depending how much sauce you like..we don’t like too much. Also, feel free to season the sauce like oregano, basil, parsley…the one we had was already seasoned so we didn’t add any additional)

Preheat over to the packaged crust directions (or have a pre baked home-made crust..I usually use this recipe)

Saute steak in one teaspoon oil until cooked through and place aside. In the same skillet, place the onions and garlic and cook for 5 minutes. Add peppers and cook and additional 5 minutes. Set this mix aside.

Add one teaspoon of oil into the skillet and saute mushrooms until they are dark in color. (For all of these mixtures, season as you see fit. I only used salt, pepper and a little bit of garlic powder on the steak).

Next, you’re ready to assemble the pizza! there really are no rules…just that the tomato sauce has to go on the bottom. Bake either according to the crust package directions or your crust recipe directions….and eat 🙂

This is the first time we’ve made this type of pizza. We also really enjoy pineapple and pesto (but not at the same time) on our pizza..What kind of toppings do you like on yours?

2 thoughts on “Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Leave me a message :)

