Lemon Blossoms

This week has been a busy one…I’m on track with all my workouts and have really been able to reduce my carbohydrate intake so I’m really happy about that. Friday and Saturday will be the real test as we have a busy hockey (both watching and Jamie playing) weekend a head of us and will be hanging out with different groups of friends almost all weekend, with lots of bad food to be had.

These little delicious bites are almost always at family functions in my house…they are just so simple and, more importantly, they are yummy! I enjoy a sweet treat after dinner, but I don’t always feel like eating a heavy dessert. These lemon blossoms aren’t too sweet and my sweet tooth is appeased after I pop one of these in my mouth.

Jamie and I are going to a pot luck dinner tonight with friends, so I though that these would be a good things to make. Although I love chocolate, and sometime believe that every one does too…I know deep down that realistically, some people don’t like it (are they crazy??). These are a real crowd pleaser..even for the chocolate lover of the bunch. The Recipe is found here…and I don’t make any alterations.

Note: these are not healthy in any way, shape, or form…but hey..everyone deserves a little cheat treat 😛

Lemon Blossoms

18 1/2-ounce package yellow cake mix

1 3 1/2-ounce package instant lemon pudding mix

4 large eggs

3/4 cup vegetable oil

Glaze:

4 cups confectioners’ sugar

1/3 cup fresh lemon juice

1 lemon, zested

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

3 tablespoons water

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Spray miniature muffin tins with vegetable oil cooking spray. Combine the cake mix, pudding mix, eggs and oil and blend well with an electric mixer until smooth, about 2 minutes.  (batter will be thick)

 

Pour a small amount of batter, filling each muffin tin half way. Bake for 12 minutes.

Don't worry if some batter doesn't make it in the tins!

While the lemon blossoms are baking, make the glaze. To make the glaze, sift the sugar into a mixing bowl. Add the lemon juice, zest, oil, and 3 tablespoons water. Mix with a spoon until smooth.

Turn out the lemon blossoms onto a tea towel after baking.

 With fingers, dip the cupcakes into the glaze while they’re still warm, covering as much of the cake as possible, or spoon the glaze over the warm cupcakes, turning them to completely coat.

I dunk them in the glaze 😛

Place on wire racks with waxed paper underneath to catch any drips. Let the glaze set thoroughly, about 1 hour, before storing in containers with tight-fitting lids.

I stick the wire rake on a baking sheet to try to reduce the mess.

Do you have a dish or item that is always at family events?? What is your favorite dish to bring to a party?

11 thoughts on “Lemon Blossoms

  1. goodness gracious—these look to die for! I go home this weekend to celebrate my cousin’s wedding. I think I am going to bring these to her shower! 🙂

  2. Pingback: I ate too much! « Savor The Sweet Life

Leave me a message :)

