Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Well hello there! This week as been quite a blur, but the end result is exciting…Jamie and I put an offer in on a home!! We went on Friday with our realtor (big shout out to Sharon!) and she found us the perfect place. It’s only been on the market for a few weeks and the price is certainly right. It has new electric, new central air, new roof, new hot water heater, as of 2009 and new drive way…so all of the main components are there. It’s all ready to move in, the previous owner was an elderly women, so the decor is a little off our style. But that’s the fun part about owning your own place…you can make it your own. Keep your fingers crossed that the offer goes through and hopefully Jamie and I will have good news in a few weeks.

In other news, Jamie’s parents bought me a silicone muffin pan for my birthday and I thought that today a would be the perfect day to try it out. The sun is finally shinning here today and I had some extra lemons on hand so decided to make some Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins. I adapted the recipe a little to add the whole wheat flour and swap out the oil for applesauce…they seriously turned out amazing. I wasn’t going to put the glaze on…but the I though, oh what the hell? It’s a small amount of glaze..it won’t hurt 😛

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup 100% whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup sugar

zest and juice of 2 small lemons

3/4 cup non-fat Greek yogurt, plain

4 egg whites (or you can use 2 large eggs or 1 egg 2 egg whites..up to you!)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 cup applesauce

2 tablespoons poppy seeds

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease a muffin or bread pan. In a large bowl, start by mixing the sugar and lemon zest together until it turns a yellow color and you can smell the strong scent of lemon.

In the same bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a medium bowl, mix the lemon juice, Greek yogurt, egg whites, vanilla and applesauce and mix well.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and with a large spoon or spatula mix well (do not over mix). Finally, stir in the poppy seeds!

Using a ice-cream scooper, divide the batter evenly in 12 muffin cups.

Bake for 18 minutes or until browned.

Now, you could absolutely stop here and keep them un-glazed. They are still good (I had one) but decided to just go all the way and stick some sugary sweetness on them! If you want glaze, mix 3/4 cup confectioners sugar, 1 tablespoon milk, a splash of canola oil and 1 teaspoon vanilla. I like to make mine fairly thick, but if you like yours thinner, then add more milk 🙂

Did you bake anything fun this weekend??

21 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

  1. Lemon poppyseed muffins are, next to banana, my ultimate guilty pleasure; any time I’m swamped with work, I find myself going to the closest coffeeshop and grabbing one for some serious carb therapy!
    I’ve never had them with glaze, but that looks soooo good, especially “the morning after.”

    And as for me, I didn’t bake anything fun this weekend but I AM about to make a lasagna… my first one ever! Wish me luck 🙂

  2. I stopped by to check on the house-hunt status & it is now very difficult to type with my fingers crossed, but I’m working with it!!!

    These muffins are adorable (and I think I need to remember when working on registry things to add more silicone pans to the list) AND I love the Black Bean Brownies you posted the other day – I made them a few months ago and (stupidly) told people what they were before they tasted them. Once you taste them though you can not even tell they are beans – so good, thanks for the reminder, might have to work on those again!!!!

Leave me a message :)

