Dedication or crazy?

…today I woke up at 3:45am to get my work out in.

Now, I am still on the fence if this is considered dedication or completely insane. I am working off site today tabling at planned giving day conference so I had to get here at 7am to set up. I knew that after I get done here at 5pm, Jamie and are meeting his family at a local Mexican restaurant because his uncle will be arriving from Texas. This can only means that large amounts of beer (and/or margaritas) and yummy food will be consumed and since I wouldn’t be able to work out after work…I decided that I’d get up early.

Now, I love working out in the mornings. I like feeling accomplished, motivated and it gets my day going. Plus, breakfast is my favorite meal and nothing beats having a great breakfast right after a hard-core work out session. I even made my french toast again!

And honestly, above graphic depicts another reason why I like getting up early. It’s maybe the only time during the day where it’s just me. I can just decided what I want to do…whether it’s working out, folding that last bit of laundry or watching the local morning news. For those couple of hours, all I have to worry about is me!

Are you a morning person? What is the earliest you have or would work out?

16 thoughts on “Dedication or crazy?

  1. Hah! okay. blog browsing, stumbled.

    I have a serious passion for getting as many things done as I can before the sun comes up.

    Workout, breakfast, writing drafts, proofreading, showering, packing lunch. All of it, before sunrise. Then I spend the rest of the day laughing at everyone else who will be playing catch up the rest of the day.

    #morningpeopleforlife.

  2. Great post! 🙂

    I’m definitely a morning person, too. I used to get up at 5:00am every morning to work out… that ended when I got married because our condo is so small that when one of us gets up, the other can’t possibly sleep through it (and Lisa’s not much of a morning person. Ha).

    I think the earliest I had to get up was around 3:45am, and we had a long day of flying across the country ahead of us. It was a little tough but totally worth it.

    And I can relate with you on enjoying just being alone for a while in the morning. I love it!

  3. I used to go to the gym at 7am three mornings a week until my work schedule changed. I agree with you. You can’t beat a good workout early in the morning. It really sets you up for the day and I miss my workouts! I do lift weights at home but would love to start doing more fitness work again.

  4. Like “C” above me…11am is my morning! hahaha. But then again, I work nights. So I guess it all evens out. To be honest though, I WISH I was a morning person. I would love to be able to just get up and get my day started, but my body just sleeps and sleeps. I’m scared for when I have a normal job and have to figure out when to work out. Since I work nights, I have the whooooole day to do whatever!

  5. Wish I had your motivation! We need to exchange emails and you tell me how you made your links above, I can’t seem to figure it out 😦 can’t wait to read more and keep on staying fit!

  6. If you woke up that early to workout everyday, I’d say you were crazy! Once in a while is no biggie..then again..depends when you go to sleep!! If that’s just your wake up time then shoooot, you’re not crazy at all!

  7. I am totally a morning person. I must wake up and have my workout, eat breakfast, and carry on! I wake up at 5:20am and take in p90x or Insanity whatever is on the schedule. On the weekends I follow it with a run. I agree its “me” time!

Leave me a message :)

