Egg muffins with spinach and turkey bacon

Howdy! Man, these days are just flying by lately. May feel like a super busy month for us…do you feel that way too?

The weather here has been gorgeous and this weekend was perfect for washing cars (Jamie and I are sort of both clean car freaks) and walking around town. We spend Sunday with Jamie’s family celebrating mother’s day which was fun as always. The weekend felt semi relaxing, but I woke up today just not feeling ready for the week. Oh well, what can you do! Did you do anything fun for mother’s day??

Although, I don’t have any kids yet…I do have my cats. So I am a mother to them! 😛 My mom sent me a happy mother’s day card from the cats (hahah she’s so funny). Check out my babies below!

Hahaha Lily was not to happy about this. We think that she looks like a kitty chef!

Louie sleeps like this all the time. I think he looks like and upside-down skunk.

I really haven’t had enough to time be in the kitchen and make all the fun things that I want too and I’m quite bummed. I’ve started the packing process (exciting…but I don’t like packing!!) and Jamie has been playing a lot of hockey after work (I guess goalies are in high demand). And that means I get to be lazy with dinner and eat whatever I feel up to making. 😛 I did have time to make some of these egg muffins for breakfast this week though, which will save me time in the mornings 🙂

The best part of this recipe is that you can rotate any type of chopped veggies. Broccoli, red pepper, zucchini, mushrooms etc all could be added. You can also add (or remove) any kind of meat. I had turkey bacon on hand today, but you could use real bacon, ham or turkey sausage (I always think chorizo would be good in one of these muffins!) If you decide to remove the meat, feel free to double the amount of veggies in the recipe.

Egg muffins with spinach and turkey bacon

2 tablespoon melted butter (I used earth balance)

12 muffin pan (or you can just just a silicone muffin pan)

5 eggs

8 egg whites

1/4 cup skim milk
1 cup grated sharp cheddar

2 cups spinach

10 strips turkey bacon

Salt and pepper to taste (might depend on what type and how much of the breakfast meat you use)

Preheat oven to 375 degress.

Spray a large pan with the nonstick spray and saute spinach until wilted. Remove and let cool. Drain any water from the spinach. Set aside.

Cook your desired meat according to package directions. In this case, I was using turkey bacon with I chose to cook in the microwave. Once it was finished, I set on a cutting board to cool. After it has cooled down, I cut it into bite sized pieces.

In a bowl (preferably with a spout of some sort for easy pouring), beat the eggs, egg whiltes, and milk. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Next, it’s time to prepare the muffin tins! Use a pastry brush to coat each muffin cup thoroughly with melted butter. In the bottom of the muffin cups layer the turkey bacon and spinach.

You want the muffin cups to be about 2/3 full, with just enough room to pour a little egg around the other ingredients. Top with cheese and pour egg mixture into each muffin cup until it is 3/4 full.

I like to stir slightly with a fork. Bake 25-35 minutes until muffins have risen and are slightly browned and set.

Muffins will keep more than a week in the refrigerator. Egg muffins can be frozen and reheated, but I like them best when they are just refrigerated. For best results, thaw in refrigerator before reheating. Microwave on high about 2 minutes to reheat.

Have you made egg muffins before? What do you like to mix in with your eggs??

8 thoughts on “Egg muffins with spinach and turkey bacon

  1. You are a mother to cats..I love you so much more. I have two cats, and I said happy mothers day to myself for being a good mother to them. Cat owners are of another breed! These muffins do look tasty!

Leave me a message :)

